Scholastic Canada: Rights
Skip to main content
The Grave Robber’s Apprentice

The Grave Robber’s Apprentice

by Allan Stratton

ISBN 9780571284078 Paperback
288 Pages | 5.5" x 8.25" | Ages 8 to 12
See an excerpt

All is not well in the kingdom of Waldland . . . The orphan Hans is desperate to escape his master, the grave robber Knobbe the Bent. The young countess Angela von Schwanenberg must rescue her parents from the mad archduke. But when fate flings them together, they find themselves on a daring quest, hurtling through haunted forests, racing down mountains in a coffin and sneaking along underground passageways with a travelling circus. And at every turn, the archduke's Necromancer is there to thwart their progress.

Will Angela save her parents? Will Hans escape his past and find out who he truly is? Or will the evil Necromancer capture them first?

Praise for Allan Stratton:

"A classic adventure story... This clever tale hits all the right notes ... A fast-paced, entertaining historical fantasy." — Publisher's Weekly, US

"A playfully dramatic adventure with swashbuckling kids, mountain hermits, avalanche sledding and circus bears... Clever and funny... fresh and cheeky." — Kirkus Reviews

Stratton tells (his tale) all in language as rollicking as a song, with almost as many amusing moments as there are heart-stopping ones. He also slips in some important messages: the power of imagination; the redeeming quality of kindness; and no matter how dire the straits, the need to believe in happy endings." — Booklist (starred review)

"Stratton offers up a rambunctious new take on an old fairy-tale theme in this hugely engaging, humorous and exciting novel that is ideal for readers at upper primary level." — Booktrust, UK

"Allan Stratton’s The Grave Robber’s Apprentice is perfect for 8+… Fans of Philip Pullman’s Clockwork and Ken Oppel will delight in Stratton’s wit and zest, and his jokes, twists, ghosts, wolves, prophecies and gothic tropes." — The Times of London (Children's Book of the Week)

"This is an exhilarating, swash-buckling adventure that's full of humour and heart and bursting with breakneck action, set in a fantastical world with haunted forests, avalanche sledding and circus bears.” — Lovereading4kids, UK (featured book)

"Fresh, funny and more than a little gruesome." — The Bookbag (5 stars)

"Stratton has created a cast worthy of both farcical comedy and terrible tragedy... A highly entertaining read and a cracking, madcap adventure." — We Love This Book Magazine, UK

"Highly original... sublime... Sure to become a Canadian classic of the genre." — CM Magazine (4 stars out of 4)

“A rollicking and enchanting fairy tale for the 21st century — Kenneth Oppel, author of the Airborn trilogy and the Silverwing Saga "Funny, imaginative." — Quill and Quire (starred review)

Awards

  • A Junior Library Guild selection, US
  • Austin Waldorf Children's Choice Award, US
  • Nominee, Black-Eyed Susan Book Award, US
  • Pearson Foundation/ Writer's Trust "Read for my School" inaugural selection, UK
  • Times of London, Book of the Week, UK
  • Honour Book, Canadian Library Association, Book of the Year for Children Award
  • Nominee, 2012 Governor General's Literary Award, Canada
  • Nominee, Ontario Library Association Silver Birch Award, Canada
  • Nominee, Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children's Book Award, Canada
  • Nominee, Manitoba Young Readers' Choice Award, Canada
  • Best Books 2012 (Starred), Canadian Children's Book Centre
  • Ontario Library Association's Best Bets for Middle Grade Fiction, Canada
  • Nominee, Diamond Willow Award, Canada
  • Nominee, Red Cedar Award, Canada

Rights Sold

  • Chinese - Beijing Publishing Group
  • English (Canada) - HarperCollins
  • English (UK)- Faber
  • English (US) - HarperCollins
  • French World - Bayard
  • Portuguese - Editora Planeta
  • Turkish - Marti Publishing

Contact Information

Maral Maclagan, Rights and Contracts Manager
mmaclagan@scholastic.ca | 416-915-3524
604 King Street West, Toronto, ON, M5V 1E1

Image credits